Click here to browse our fantastic gallery of FREE or hugely discounted novels

Interview with Marie Force, author of the Mccarthys of Gansett Island series


image image

Tell us about the Mccarthys of Gansett Island series. What is it about?
The McCarthys of Gansett Island Series is about a family that owns a marina and hotel on a fictional version of Block Island, Rhode Island. The stories incorporate the five McCarthy siblings and their parents as well as their wide circle of friends and extended family.

There are 8 books in the series so far, aren’t there? How much, if any, of Waiting For Love did you have plotted when you wrote Maid For Love?
None. I don’t plot the book I’m working on, let alone eight books ahead.

What genre are the novels? 
Contemporary romance.

What kind of readers will it appeal to?
Mostly women, but I have lots of male readers, too!

Complete this sentence for us: If you like ___________, you’ll love the Mccarthys of Gansett Island series.
Anything by Nora Roberts

Tell us about the main characters of the series.
The series is anchored by the couple in Maid for Love, Mac McCarthy and Maddie Chester, who get married at the end of the second book. Also central to the cast are the McCarthy parents “Big Mac” and Linda McCarthy.

Can you tell us what you’ve got planned for the future of the series?
Next up is Time for Love, book 9, which will feature a character who has gone from hated in book 2 to fully redeemed and deserving of love by book 9. Dr. David Lawrence, the island’s only doctor, will be paired with Maddie McCarthy’s friend, Daisy Babson, a woman who has seen her share of heartache. I’ve enjoyed taking David on the journey from villain to hero over the course of the series.

Did you hate Dr David Lawrence too? Have you ever had any characters that made your blood boil?
I’ve written quite a few murderers via the Fatal Series. Thankfully, my homicide detective Sam Holland always gets the bad guy—or gal. I’m not too fond of the horrible Jim Sturgil on Gansett Island, either. Readers love to hate him!

Since you’ve brought up the Fatal Series, we should ask this question. You’ve got a number of other series, and some standalone novels. Can you tell us a little about them?
I also write the Fatal Series for Harlequin’s Carina Press and in print from HQN. Fatal Mistake, book 6 in that series, will be out on June 17. Then there’s the Treading Water Series that consists of four books and my new Green Mountain Series, coming from Berkley next year. I have seven standalone books that are all contemporary romances. You can find out more about all 25 (soon to be 26) of my books at

Tell us a bit more about your website and how else we can find you online.
My website is Make sure you join my mailing list at while you’re there for news about new and upcoming books.

Twitter: @marieforce

I also run about 30 reader groups on Facebook—one for each series and one for each book—where readers can hang out and dish with other fans of the series and books. You can find a complete listing of all the groups at

Tell us a bit about yourself.
Why is this always the hardest question? Let’s see, I’ve been married for more than 20 years (to the same guy) and we have two kids, a daughter who is 17 and a son who is 14. Our daughter will be graduating from high school soon and heading off to college. I’m in big-time denial about that! I live in my home state of Rhode Island and share my office with two feisty three-year-old dogs, Brandy and Louie. My favourite things to do are read and write, and if I can do either or both on a beach or a boat, I’m happy!

What’s next?
I’m working on the first Green Mountain book as well as the ninth McCarthy book, and I have another idea running around in my head that is proving hard to ignore. I’m keeping busy!

image image

Leave a Facebook, Google+ or Wordpress Comment

Loading Facebook Comments ...

One Comment

  1. Gloria Lowe

    Ok, I’m waiting for MEANT FOR LOVE… when do you think it might be available?

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: