Click here to browse our fantastic gallery of FREE or hugely discounted novels

Why you must read Carissa Andrews’ Pendomus

image

buy Cheap Kindle eBooks

Humanity has colonized on a tidally locked planet known as Pendomus, a planet of extremes. Half eternal scorching desert and half perpetual arctic night. Surviving along the temperate band between the two, we’ve set up home in a complex known as the Helix. Within the Helix lies a highly sophisticated, highly technological society that seems to function solely on humans fulfilling their life’s purpose. That purpose is determined and nurtured through a person’s natural aptitudes, as read by their daily brain scans. Eating, sleeping, even procreation is handled by professionals. These basic concepts, no longer a part of society’s every day norm.

Sounds like a nightmare version of paradise. Who’s our main character? Are they satisfied?
Seventeen-year-old Runa Cophem. Her life inside is anything but fulfilling. She feels disconnected, and longs to be more than society dictates. Inside, no one socializes, no one interacts in a meaningful way. It’s never sat right with Runa. She would love nothing more than to reach out to her family, but not even her own mother can show any semblance of love for her. Instead, Runa has found solace in the ancient woods nearby, despite being strictly forbidden.

Runa’s life takes an unforeseen turn when she’s brutally attacked, and left for dead in those woods near the Helix. Rescued by a stranger with blue hair, she’s immersed into a surprising way humanity has survived. Fueled by a yearning to belong, and an attraction she didn’t even know was possible, Runa wants desperately to make a new life. Yet, there’s much she doesn’t know about herself, about the planet and the forces controlling her from afar.

What she needs are some answers.

So is this science fiction, is it romance?
Pendomus is a young-adult science fiction/fantasy genre-bending series with dystopian flare and a wee bit of paranormal romance thrown in. If you’re sick of vampires and werewolves, this series of novels will help you escape planet Earth entirely.

So it’s not aimed at the Twilight crowd, unless they are willing to try something new.
Readers who enjoyed books like Divergent, The Giver, The Hunger Games will enjoy this book. Also people who have a flare for science fiction/fantasy.

Let’s get back to Runa. Tell us about her.
Runa starts off a bit naive about life and the planet she lives on. We watch her grow from someone who has been kicked down, attacked, and shell-shocked to a more mature, capable woman by the end of the story.

Have you written any other books that we should read next?
I am currently writing POLARITIES, Book 2 of the Pendomus Chronicles – along with a contemporary romance with a working title of Confessions. Be on the lookout for both late this year.

If you want the first insight into future novels, follow me on my author website: www.carissandrews.com.

Or social media, I presume. How can we follow you there?
@CarissaAndrews
www.facebook.com/AuthorCarissaAndrews

Tell us a bit about yourself.
An author emerges from the depths of Minnesotan waters. Sci-fi/Fantasy is my pen of choice. When not writing, I engage in acts of whimsy. I kinda adore philosophical thinking. When not blogging about my books, I blog about the thoughts haunting my mind– which typically find their way into the pages of my books.

I am an accomplished graphic designer, so in my spare time when trying to get around my writer’s block, I would switch to being visual and design my cover.

Leave a Facebook, Google+ or Wordpress Comment

Loading Facebook Comments ...

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: